Dearly Ransomed Soul – @authAprilTaylor


“… If you prefer your crime mysteries more a cozy puzzle than a noir grimfest, this pacey novel comes highly recommended.” – Linda Acaster



Georgia Pattison, an early-music soprano with a nose for a mystery made her first appearance in the introductory novella Whistles After Dark. Now she is in action again in the first full-length mystery, Dearly Ransomed Soul.
Georgia finds herself in Worcester as a last-minute substitute soloist in the prestigious Three Choirs Festival. She also finds the body of Ariana Staithes, murdered in the cathedral immediately after her superlative performance as the Angel in Elgar’s Dream of Gerontius.
The method of murder speaks of deep hatred, but who would want this fantastic emerging talent dead? A lot of people as it turns out. And not just the musical ones. Her estranged husband? Her rival? A jealous wife? One of her blackmail victims? Is there anyone this woman has not alienated?
Superintendent Hamilton knows nothing of the musical world, but she does know this murder was planned and, Georgia, being a latecomer, is innocent. Hamilton is also desperate. The festival is world-renowned and she is in the spotlight and under pressure.
Against every regulation, she persuades Georgia to help her. For Georgia, the investigation starts as something of a crossword puzzle game, but soon she finds herself floundering in a mesh of confusion with suspects at every turn as the mystery deepens and her position becomes fraught with danger. Can she find the killer before the killer finds her?
Dearly Ransomed Soul is now available, with the added bonus of the first chapter of the second book in the series, Laid In Earth and links to all the music mentioned in the book.

Click here to obtain a review copy of Dearly Ransomed Soul

Author Bio

April TaylorApril Taylor, a chartered librarian, having worked in a variety of libraries from prison, through public to pharmaceutical research, gave it all up to write full time.

Harlequin published the Tudor Enigma series. Court of Conspiracy, Taste of Treason and Mantle of Malice follow the adventures of elemancer (a magician who uses the elements), Luke Ballard, apothecary to the young King Henry IX and Anne Boleyn in Hampton Court Palace.

April then decided to move her writing into the 21st century. Georgia Pattison, an early-music soprano made her debut in the novella Whistles After Dark.

Dearly Ransomed Soul is the first full-length novel featuring Georgia and is set at the Three Choirs Festival in Worcester Cathedral. Georgia is compelled to hunt the killer of arrogant mezzo-soprano, Ariana Staithes to ensure her best friend is not arrested for the murder.

The second in the Georgia Pattison Mysteries, Laid In Earth will be published in spring 2017. Books 3 and 4 are in the planning stage.

April has also published two short non-fiction books, Cutting Out the Academic Crap is a no-nonsense guide for students writing their dissertation. Internet Research for Fiction Writers uses April’s professional information skills to help fellow authors. She has also published a book of 15 short stories Shadows In The Light.

April Taylor is a member of the Crime Writers Association. She lives in Lincolnshire, a county redolent in history and crime, with her husband and blind rescue retriever.


Click here to obtain a review copy of Dearly Ransomed Soul

Praise for Whistles After Dark

“… This is a page-turner, but one with heart and substance, where the characters lead the action through the convoluted plot. It’s a great little story and one I enjoyed with all its twists and turns. A good, sound ending, too.  Thoroughly entertaining and engaging. Crime fiction readers will love this…” – Stuart Aken